2008

I have a habit of recapping the things that I have done in the previous year. Adios 2008 and hello 2009!

I did a lot of travelling in 2008.  However, I recently realised that none of the holidays that I had taken were for myself.  It was either for a friend, for my husband or for work.  Nothing for myself.  How did I allow myself to completely neglected the one thing that support the well being of my sanity?  To go to places that I adore, to map down the strange experiences in a new place, to appreciate a different culture and most importantly, to be by myself.  This, I vouch, will not be repeated in 2009.  In fact, I had started planning my little escapade and not long to go now, before it all materialised.

2008 was a busy year.  Filled with wedding bells and heart breaks.  It also taught me that there is a limit to friendships that were built on courtesy.  Being continuously supportive to a group of friends will eventually lead to a disastrous favouritism tug-a-war.  It is in human’s nature to prefer one human to another.  Especially in a close knit social circle where the men and  the women are consistently philandering with each other, it is not possible to not get bitten.

My previous experiences with friends have always been peaceful and pleasant.  Maybe because it has always been predominantly females only and not a mixture of both sexes.  It was straight forward, genuine and heart-warming.  We love each other just the way we are.  Unfortunately in a mixed group of single men and women, things start to get complicated.  Accusations due to jealousy and insecurity gradually arised.  A victim is chosen and ostracised.  People who kept their opinions to themselves will be spared.  People who spoke their mind will be punished.  Hmm… come to think about it, I was in a bloody communist circle!!

Anyway, that was in 2008.  The year may had ended a little drammatically for me but I had discovered and learned a lot more from the incident.  Some friends are worth your life, some friends are just best left to rot.

2009 is a clean slate and I can feel the energy of a new year flowing into the core of my very existence.  Let 2009 be a year of good health, wealth and happiness to all my true friends!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeri on January 20, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Hear.. Hear… I’ll drink to that toast 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by kareensyl on January 20, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Hear, hear true friend! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

