Three Days of Rain Regrets

James McAvoy returns to West End

James McAvoy returns to West End

Alas!  After months of planning and hours of clicking in order to obtain the perfect seats (middle of the stalls, first third row to be precised), my dream came crashing down when I found out that I won’t be able to make it to the play 😦  This is the one chance that I could meet one of my favourite actors, my Scottish darling, James McAvoy live!!!!  A chance to speak to him personally and judge for myself is he truly as cheaky and humble as all the interviews had portrayed him to be.  These privileges shall not be wasted, therefore I had given both my tickets to my friends in London.

On Stage

On Stage

On the 31st of March 2009, 7:30pm, while I was dreaming about the play in Malaysia, my friends went to watch the play in the Apollo Theatre.  True enough, they were both blown away with not only McAvoy’s intense performance but also Nigel Harman and Lyndsey Marshal brilliant portrayal as a New Yorker and a southern American.  Despite the tough comments from the critics, the play undoubtedly captivate most of the audiences with their vibrant staging and amazing actors.  I regretted terribly that I couldn’t make it.  Then again, it wasn’t totally in my control.  At least two of my close friends had a brilliant time 🙂

Behind the Stage

Behind the Stage

Of course, the condition that was attached to my tickets was for them to take lots of pictures of McAvoy after the play.  Not only they hung around like a couple of teenagers at the back entrance of the theatre, they managed to get me an autographed program too!!!  In the process, one of my friends told McAvoy that this is for her friend in Malaysia and he answered one of these:

  1. “It’s a bit far for her to come isn’t it?” (according to friend #1)
  2. “It’s a bit lazy of her to not to come isn’t it?” (according to friend #2)

Well, he does have a very sexy Scottish accent and it takes a little getting used to it.  Knowing McAvoy through watching all his interviews, I think answer 2 is more likely because he is a cheaky little bugger 😉

All in all, yes, I was devastated that I couldn’t make it but I was also extremely thankful for the effort my friends went through to materialise part of my dream.  Can’t wait to see the pictures and my autographed program!! 🙂

Please click the link on the side bar for the pictures.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeri on April 8, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    I used to love Nigel Harman in Eastenders !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

