Cello Trouble

Attended a local Symphony Orchestra on Saturday. The standard was of course incomparable to the international philharmonic orchestra. However, their effort was commendable and Mark Eager as their invited conductor was very educational indeed. I loved the way he presented each piece with a mini recount of the pieces historical background. He also pointed out that Pachebel’s Canon in D major consisted of 28 bars of repetitive melody played by the cello! I did try to count but gave up after about 2 minutes.

The next day I decided to practice my cello, who knows, one day I may be required to play the 28 repetitive bars šŸ˜‰ I first noticed something was wrong with my cello when the fifth note on my G major scale sounded like a sudden drop on an ascending hill. I then proceeded to my D string and realised that my A string was loose! I tried to tighten the A string but even before it reached its appropriate tension, it snapped! I was horrified! My first snap. I am sure to a seasoned cellist, this is a common occurrence. To me, I just can’t stop wondering did I not handle it with enough care?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeri on April 21, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    too ganas šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. I don’t know if this will help or not, but when your string drops out of tune make sure to tune it up slowly. Also make sure that the string it seated on the bridge and the nut properly before putting much tension on the string. In the end, you are right- it just happens sometimes! The good news is you now have an excuse to go out and buy a nice set of new strings! šŸ™‚ I am planning on doing a video about tuning on my new blog http://cellovideos.wordpress.com/ so stay tuned.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

